Home  /  TAIC New Arrivals

Political Participation in Asia: Typologies of Political Behavior across Democratizing States

Examines patterns of political participation in 10 Asian countries, namely Japan, South Korea, Mongolia, the Philippines, Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Taiwan, and Hong Kong. Revisits research methodology, Asian Barometer Survey, and a theory of 6 political participation behaviors, covering interest, voter, communalists, parochial participants, campaigners, and complete activist. Analyzes social characteristic factors in response to political behavior, such as education, income, age, gender. Classifies Japan as established democracy. Refers South Korea, Taiwan, Indonesia, Mongolia, the Philippines, and Thailand as new democracies. Determines Hong Kong, Malaysia, and Singapore as partial democracies.